Breaking News
You are here: Home / Karnataka / K K Kalavarkar, Dalit Litterateur to chair Kannada Sahitya Sammelan
K K Kalavarkar, Dalit Litterateur to chair Kannada Sahitya Sammelan

K K Kalavarkar, Dalit Litterateur to chair Kannada Sahitya Sammelan

The veteran K K Kalavarkar, Dalit litterateur, playwright and theatre artiste has been unanimously selected as chairman of the taluk thirteenth Kannada Sahitya Sammelan that will be held at Siddapur that lies on the foothill of Balebare Ghat, near here on Sunday December 8.

The Sammelan reception Committee president D Gopalakrishna Kamat announced this during the press meet held here on Tuesday November 26.

The Sammelan has been organized in the semi-Malnad region of Siddapur, near here with the view of recognizing the local litterateurs and local talent, said Kamat.

The reception Committee advisor veteran retired principal M Subramanya Joshi said that the stage will be named in honour of the freedom fighter late Amasebail Krishnaraya Kodgi.

The former MLA A G Kodgi will inaugurate thirteenth Sammelan at Ranganata auditorium, Siddapur, near here on Sunday December 8 at 9.30am, added Joshi.

A colourful procession of Goddess Bhuvaneshwari – the patroness of Karnataka and Sammelan chairman K K Kalavarkar will be held ahead of the inaugural ceremony.

The new book release, books exhibition-cum-sale will be held on the occasion.

A seminar on ‘Kundagannada’ will be held after the inaugural function, wherein the experts will present papers on the splendour of ‘Kundagannada’ and old-adages.
The students of high schools will present papers on variety of topics during students’ seminar.

A seminar on Yakshagana will be held on Sunday at 3.30pm, followed by felicitation of veteran achievers of different spheres.

A public meeting and cultural programmes will be held at 5.45pm.

The senior columnist Ko Shivaram Karant will deliver valedictory address at 6.15pm.

Udupi district-in-charge minister Vinay Kumar Sorake will be the chief guest of the occasion.

Kundapur taluk Kannada Sahitya Parishat president Narayan Karvi will preside the programme.

The reception Committee secretary Dr Jagdish Shetty welcomed the gathering. T G Pandurang Pai proposed vote of thanks.
The taluk Kannada Sahitya Parishat secretary K G Vaidya, reception Committee secretary B G Panduranga Pai, H Bhoja Shetty, Satish Acharya and others were present on the occasion. [By bellevision]

About YourMKBharti

Please follow us

Comments are closed.

Scroll To Top